First off let me
start with this. I am a little confused by the NBA playoff schedule. How do the
Western Conference Finals begin before the Eastern Conference semis have ended?
Wouldn’t it have made more sense for game seven between Boston and Washington to
be held today and then to start the WCF on Monday? How long did Adam Silver
want the Cavs to rest before they had to play again? I hope the Cavs get back
from their exotic vacation locales in time for the ECF to start. At this rate
they may forget there is still basketball to play, or at least get confused and
think they get to go straight to the finals.
For the first 30
minutes of the Western Finals game one I thought perhaps we were not destined
to see a 3rd straight Warriors vs. Cavs final. Or at least it looked
as if there was a chance of some “new blood” making it there. Of course a lot
of that would depend on what you qualify as “new blood,” as the Spurs are
certainly not that. However, this is now unquestioningly Kawai’s team, and for
just a moment, or a bit more than a moment, it appeared as if the Spurs might
have something to say. Then of course Kawai landed on Pachulia’s foot, headed
to the locker room and things went sideways before Greg Popovich even knew what
was going on.
Poetry in motion.
When the Spurs are rolling, that is the analogy I use to describe watching
them. It is cliché, and it is meant to be. The Spurs are a bit cliché and have
been for the better part of two decades now. What is that line in “Walk the
Line,” where June Carter says to a young Johnny Cash that his sound is “steady
like a train, and sharp like a razor.” At their zenith, the Spurs are this.
They do not have the razzle and dazzle of the Warriors, or the star power of
the Cavs, but they are the maximum sum of their parts, and when it is all
working together it is something to behold. We all know what the Spurs are,
they are the same every year, they are never the most exciting or sexiest team,
but they are always there. Our one true constant, the rock of the NBA.
In the first quarter
this afternoon, everything was coming together for the Spurs. They started with
lock down defense and the Warriors were missing everything. The Spurs were
exerting their will on the boards and LaMarcus was creating mismatches and
hitting those mid-range fall away jumpers and long 2’s that the analytics crowd
hates so much. The Warriors looked like they were trying to shake off the rust,
while the Spurs looked like they were carrying the momentum from game 6 against
the Rockets straight into Oracle Arena. And then of course Kawai! Oh Kawai! After
missing game 6 on Thursday many wondered if he would be 100% for game one. He
was, and then some. After driving from the top of the key, taking off just past
the free throw line and tomahawking down a one handed dunk late in the first
quarter, you could almost hear the air go out of Oracle Arena.
The Warriors looked
small, their shots weren’t falling and the Spurs roared to a 46-21 advantage.
My buddy Yev, started messaging me “The Spurs have got this!,” “I think the
Spurs have a real chance!”
Well yes, I suppose
they had a chance. Even up 25 though I knew that the 3rd quarter
still had to be played, and for those who don’t know. The 3rd
quarter is when the Warriors roll. As soon as Yev texted me, the Warriors went
on an 11-0 run, I go cold feet and messaged back something like “Not so fast,
the Dubs are getting hott.”
The Spurs were having
none of it though, and rebounded to take a 20 point lead at the half. The ABC
halftime show sounded like a Spurs love fest and a Warriors funeral. I think I
counted the phrase “Warriors look rusty” a good 5-6 times. Things were setting
up for a shake up of the Cavs/Warriors playoffs domination narrative. And thank
God. All the good storylines of this playoffs have gone up in smoke so far it
seems, save for Isaiah Thomas putting the Celtics on his back in the wake of
tragedy. Westbrook/Harden turned into a colossal dud, and even the
Spurs/Rockets series went out with a whimper. Hopes that Lob City, could make
one last splash in the post season melted away in the first round and the Jazz
ended up being nothing more than a sacrificial lamb to the Dubs in round two.
The biggest personal disappointment to me was the Baby Bucks blowing the series
lead to the Raptors and nixing a potentially great 2nd round matchup
with the Cavs.
So where does that
leave us? With the hope the Wizards can wrest game 7 from the Celtics and then
give the Cavs a series (Because we know the Celtics cannot.), and the prayer
the Spurs can push the Warriors to at least 6 games. Aside from that we have
what we have seen so far, the worst playoffs in recent memory, and it really
has not been close.
But for 2 ½ quarters
on Sunday afternoon it looked as if perhaps the playoffs were about to get
interesting. LaMarcus was exploiting mismatches, Kawai was Kawai, Patty Mills
was relatively effective, and Manu was not absolutely terrible (Even though he
looked like a 55 year old man on the court, Tony Romo would probably look less
out of place in an NBA game at this point.). The Warriors made a few mini runs,
but every time the Spurs would answer, the lead they had built early on just
looked to insurmountable. Even when Curry started to get going, Kawai had an
answer, either with an offensive rebound, a no look pass to a streaking
Aldridge, or a corner 3. It looked like the Spurs were going to control the
game and steal one at Oracle.
Then a scare! After
draining a 3 from the corner Kawai stepped back and landed on a teammates foot
on the landing, he winced in pain and continued down court. A few minutes later,
he shot from the corner, veteran piece of shit Zaza Puchulia slid his food
under and down Kawai came on it. Game, set, match, up by 20, but done for, just
like that.
The NBA is a funny
league. In most sports the equivalent of a 20 point lead would have been safe
at that late stage (Unless you are the Atlanta Falcons in the Super Bowl.). A
football team would have run out the clock, a baseball team would have brought in
a reliever and shut it down. But as soon as Kawai went out the ABC broadcast
team immediately proclaimed “This is a dangerous time for the Spurs!”
Are you fucking
kidding me! Up 20 late in the 3rd quarter and this is a dangerous
time?! This is a team that just beat the Rockets on the road in a close out
game by 39 WITHOUT Kawai. But as soon as he exited game one it was for some
reason a death knell. And you knew it within about a minute. The Warriors
immediately went on a 16-0 run to cut the lead to single digits and the rest at
that point was a given. Sure the final score was a respectably close 113-111,
but the final score does not belie the fact. The Spurs blew a massive lead once
their top player exited the game. Suddenly Aldridge couldn’t do shit, and all
the parts looked out of sorts. No more poetry, this was Johnny drunk/high and
kicking out the headlights at the Opry.
I guess I could focus
on the comeback, on Steph Curry’s second half explosion. How for the final 18
minutes the Warriors looked like the unstoppable Warrior juggernaut we have
gotten used to. But that was not the real story of this game, it was more about
the Spurs melting down the stretch, about that steady train jumping the tracks,
that sharp razor as dull as a butter knife after Kawai’s injury. Losing any
game in which you held a 25 point lead is tough to recover from, but how do you
recover from blowing a game like that in the Western Conference Finals on the
road? If there is any way the Spurs recover from this they forget about it,
move on, and pray to God that Kawai is healthy.
After the 2013 NBA
Finals I thought we had seen the last of the Spurs. I couldn’t imagine any team
could lose a title in that kind of heartbreaking fashion with a cast of
characters so far past their prime, and rebound. Perhaps I underestimated Pop
and Duncan, the system, the heart of a champion, maybe I was wrong in thinking
the Big 3 were unstoppable (No one is, besides Jordan in his prime.), or it
could have been I never saw Kawai coming (Who did? At least like this? The late
first round pick out of San Diego State, a guy who looked like a solid rotation
guy, not an MVP candidate.). But there they were one year later for revenge,
not just revenge, but they absolutely ran the Heat off the court and indirectly
ended the big 3.
So if any team can
come back from this kind of disaster it would be the Spurs. But of course this
is much different incarnation of the team. Duncan has ridden off into the sunset,
Parker is injured, and Manu is a corpse on the basketball court. Really the
whole series, or whether or not they can steal a game or two rests on the
health of Kawai and whether or not LaMarcus plays like an all-star or a guy
with a heart problem. For a moment today we got a glimpse of what a competitive
series might look like, but in the end Kawai’s bum ankle may have put that to
bed halfway through game one.
It is sad how
predictable the NBA can be. There really are no Cinderella stories at this
level and in a way it is the fans who lose. We came into this season knowing it
was going to end up with the Cavs and the Warriors and halfway through the NBA
playoffs nothing has shown us otherwise. It is almost as if Adam Silver had a
little wire attached to Kawai’s ankle, whoa there big fella! Getting a little
close to throwing off the plot!
I have some friends
who claim the NBA is rigged. Today would have been exhibit A I suppose. Kawai
goes down, the announcers proclaim “the Spurs are in trouble,” and suddenly all
hell breaks loose. I guess the only thing keeping it from turning into the WWE
is the fact that Pachulia just did the old, step under the shooter trick
instead of whacking Kawai with a steel chair. I think everyone else was in on
it except for me, the idiot Spurs fan watching at home. The announcers knew,
the Warriors knew, the fans definitely knew. Within two minutes it was as if a
tsunami had engulfed the Spurs. Suddenly Aldridge was throwing up his usual
bricks from mid-range, Mills couldn’t stop dribbling off his foot, and Steph
Curry couldn’t miss. Go figure, the team that rolled Houston by 39 without
Kawai, couldn’t help but get steamrolled without him today.
Perhaps, it was the
way he went down that rendered the Spurs unable to recover. Perhaps, the game
was rigged. More likely the Warriors are just that much better than anyone
else. The Spurs were hitting on all cylinders and then, there was that brief
flicker of opportunity for the Dubs, and there they went. Kicked that finely
tuned machine into high gear and they were gone. I couldn’t help, but think
back to game one of the playoffs against the Blazers, it seems like half a
lifetime ago, but that is just how the NBA playoffs go. It was actually just
under a month ago, the Blazers were hanging tough, McCollum and Lillard were
having monster games, and then whoosh, it was over. Just like that. There were
only two questions remaining after the game today.
How bad would the
Warriors have lit up the Rockets?
And.
Can the Spurs and Kawai
recover enough to make game two interesting.
Law of averages. Aldridge shot 11-24. That's about what he shoots. Once Leonard is down, he has to force it. Aldridge is only good as a second option.
ReplyDeleteIf the Warriors score 16 in a quarter, they will score 40 in another. The swings are bigger with a great 3 shooting team.
Spurs can't compete with Warriors. I haven't even watched any NBA playoffs since the first round lol.
Thank you for your thoughts Rayford. I cannot disagree. The Warriors completely dominated the Kawai-less Spurs last night. It was embarrassing.
ReplyDelete